All Website dropdown

Board of Directors

Dr Ian Clements, MB, BCh, DRCOG, MRCGP


Dr Clements lives in Newtownards, where he had practised as a GP for 27 years. Throughout his GP career, Dr Clements has continually sought to improve health and care services for patients through his involvement in the commissioning process. He also contributed his expertise as a doctor over many years, to a wide array of leading health and care organisations.

Mrs Valerie Watts

Chief Executive

Valerie Watts took up post as Chief Executive of the Health and Social Care Board in July 2014. Mrs Watts has over 30 years' public sector experience, beginning her career at the Royal Victoria Hospital where she oversaw competitive tendering for ancillary support services, and having worked in local government since 1989. Most recently, Mrs Watts was Chief Executive of Aberdeen City Council (2011- 2014) and formerly Town Clerk and Chief Executive of Derry City Council (2009-2011) where she was instrumental in securing the UK City of Culture for 2013 and developing a strategic economic masterplan for the North West.

Mr Robert Gilmore, OBE, FCIS, FCMI

Non-Executive Director

Mr Gilmore lives in Co Down and is a self employed Management Consultant and a Public Sector Advisor and former Local Authority Chief Executive. He is a Non-Executive Director of the Health and Social Care Board since April 2009 and was previously a lay member of the Southern Local Commissioning Group (Health and Social Services). He is an Independent Board Member of the Department for Regional Development. He was formerly a Director in a Local Strategy Partnership, a Governor in a Further and Higher Education Institute and a Commissioner in the Local Government Staff Commission.

Mr Stephen Leach CB

Non Executive Director

Mr Leach lives in North Down. He is a former senior civil servant and was Chair of the Northern Ireland Criminal Justice Board from 2000 to 2009. He is currently a Commissioner with the Criminal Cases Review Commission.

Mrs Stephanie Lowry

Non Executive Director

Mrs Lowry has 30 years’ experience working in both the private and public sector throughout her career. She has held several public appointments in a variety of areas, including Independent Board Member with the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure; Deputy Chair of the Health and Safety Executive and was a member of the Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister (OFMDFM) Audit Committee and an Independent Assessor for Public Appointments.

Dr Melissa McCullough PhD, MsC Clinical/Bioethics, LLB

Non Executive Director

Dr McCullough lives in Belfast and is a Senior Lecturer in Clinical Ethics & Law at Brighton & Sussex Medical School, University of Sussex. Melissa has been a visiting lecturer at the Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland since 2006 and her interests are primarily in human rights & healthcare, equality and justice in priority setting in health care and policy, commissioning and public health ethics. She also has an interest in public engagement including performing arts & ethics and works with local voluntary bodies in Belfast and Brighton.

Mr Brendan McKeever MSc, PGCE

Non Executive Director

Mr McKeever is a User Consultant at Queen’s University and the University of Ulster and has undertaken work to support projects to improve the care of people with disabilities. He has written widely on these matters and continues to assist organisations that provide and develop services for users and carers.

Mr John Mone MSc, BA

Non Executive Director

Mr Mone lives in Co Armagh. Until his retirement in 2007, Mr Mone had been Executive Director of Nursing at the former Craigavon Area Hospital HSS Trust and former Director of Healthcare and Nursing and Executive Director on the Trust Board of the former Armagh and Dungannon HSS Trust. He serves on the Board of Governors of St John’s Primary School; member of the NI Research Ethics Committee and Middletown & District Community Development Association.

Mr Michael Bloomfield

Director of Performance and Corporate Services

Mr Bloomfield joined the Health and Social Care Board when it was established in April 2009 as Assistant Director of Performance Management, following over 20 years in the Northern Ireland Civil Service. From 1998 to 2009 he held a number of posts in the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety, latterly as Head of Performance Management in the Service Delivery Unit. Michael was appointed Head of Corporate Services in the HSCB in March 2011 and in November 2012 also took on the role of Acting Director of Performance Management and Service Improvement.

Mr Paul Cummings

Director of Finance

Mr Cummings trained as an accountant with Northern Ireland Electricity before joining the Eastern Health and Social Services Board in 1987. Previous posts include Director of Finance, Technology and Estates to the South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust, Director of Finance and Information for the Ulster Community and Hospitals Trust, and Director of Finance and Contracting, Mater Hospital. In 2003 Paul served as the National Chairman of Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA), the first person outside the English NHS to receive such an honour.

Mrs Fionnuala McAndrew

Director of Social Care and Children

Mrs McAndrew was appointed to her post when the HSCB was established in April 2009. Fionnuala joined the Southern Health and Social Care Board in 1996 having worked in social care services in local authorities in England. She has worked in all aspects of social care since qualifying as a social worker, including the regulation and inspection of services. Fionnuala is currently chair of a range of multi disciplinary and multi agency groups aimed at ensuring more co-ordinated planning and delivery of services to children and families.